Why Is The Question

How does one start a blog?  A question I’ve asked myself several times over the past few months.  I guess it comes more to the question, “why?”  Why a blog?  What is it that I want to share?  The answer to both questions is the same – to tell a story by which we all can adventure, learn, grow.  A story of connection: with nature, food, spirit, self; A story of persistence: through hard times, new challenges, and meandering body and mind; A story of freedom; And a story of love.

The story truly begins with my roots, growing up on fertile Wisconsin soil in a family of five.  Nearly every moment was dedicated to some sort of purpose – whether tending the sheep, the garden, making music, cooking homegrown food, or creative projects and “alone time.”  It was an early example of what is almost becoming a fad in today’s society: the desire to live a simplified life through homesteading.  I guess that makes me pretty hipster, huh?

In all seriousness, I can hardly express the extent of gratitudes for my upbringing.  I cultivated, at an early age, a deep level of love, compassion and appreciation for Earth and all beings cohabiting her waters and soils.  A perspective that has since influenced every moment of my existence.

And so I sit here today, reflecting on my experiences – nearly twenty years of organic farming/gardening in three different climates, a couple years dedicated to connecting schools with local farms, another few working with farmers markets, and the time involved with restaurants supporting their local food systems. What a mouthful! (No pun intended…) Needless to say, I find a healthy relationship with food to be incredibly important.

At some point, likely during college, I began to realize that my perspective was not shared by everyone.  In fact, many people had never given much thought to what they were really eating, where it came from, or how it influenced their bodies.  Most believe that “baby carrots” were just that.  NEWS FLASH: they are not baby carrots, but adult carrots shaved down to form commercially attractive bite-sized morsels.  Ever seen one with a taproot?  Exactly.  But, I digress…

Witnessing such an overwhelming disconnection with the source that fuels our development-literally feeding every cell in our bodies-has spurred in me the desire to be a living resource; a facilitator of intimately knowing your food.

To me this means, yes, cooking from scratch as much as you can, gardening at whatever capacity you are able, and supporting local farmers and businesses to fill in the gaps.  It also means turning off the TV during dinner, appreciating beauty of sight, smell, flavor, texture in every bite.  It means honoring your body with healthy food choices and activity enough to utilize the nutrients they carry.  It means nourishing your mind and body with space, clarity, and relaxation-to set aside the stress-so the body’s processes of digestion and assimilation may occur.  As a massage therapist and bodyworker, this is a beautiful moment of cross-over.  To assist in finding the parasympathetic state, each relaxing touch increasing organ functioning and assimilation of nutrients, thoughts and emotions.

We are none of us perfect. We are all of us capable of stepping into challenge. Of being a little uncomfortable… and coming out on the other side; changed – if even in the slightest of ways.

Leave a comment